Day 675: Shimmering Dress.

So today I did a bit more gardening and some research, as I’ve started planing some future projects for myself and the blog; especially as I think my travel plans for the year don’t look like they are happening. Then this evening I pulled out my Pental Hybrid pens to have a doodle with on some Papermill Direct Card.

I decided to draw this piece with the Pental Hybrid pens because of the shimmer in the ink and I wanted to try sketching something on black card. These pens are great for fine details on black as they stand out against the background leaving a shimmering coloured mark on the card.

Materials:

  • Black Papermill Card.
  • White Uniball Signo pen.
  • Pental Hybrid Dual Metallic Blue + Gold pen.
  • Pental Hybrid Dual Metallic Yellow + Metallic Green.
  • Pental Hybrid Dual Metallic Silver.

Method:

  • With the white Uniball pen draw the top of the mannequin on the card.
  • Using the Green hybrid pen sketch the bodice of the dress onto the card.
  • Colour the bust of the dress with the silver pen.
  • Colour the band around the hips silver.
  • Colour the waist of the dress green following the bodies curve.
  • Draw the outline of the skirt attaching it to the bodice before filling the dress with lines following the shape of the skirt.
  • Using the Blue pen add some detail to the Bust cups before you realise it vanishes when the ink dries.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.